Days Like These

This is pretty much how I feel everyday at SENA, except, thankfully, my classrooms are pretty large and have good ventilation.

One More Detour

As I’m nearing the end of my stay in Colombia, a lot of my time lately has been spent feeling a lump in my throat. My heart sinks when I look out the bus window and see the beautiful landscapes and mountains in the distance, when I’m laughing with my friends and realize we only have a few more weeks together before I move to a different continent, or when my students tell me “Teacher, no te vayas!” Even as I write this, I’m trying to hold back the tears.

But there are days – not even days, more like hours – when leaving seems a lot easier. Those hours are usually from 10-12 on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday when I teach my Multimedia Production group. I started working with this class after semana santa. They were brand new, just beginning their studies at SENA, which means most of…

View original post 1,221 more words

Leave a Reply

